Georgia’s medical marijuana law allows certain qualified persons to legally possess up to 20 fluid ounces of “low THC oil” which is derived from the marijuana plant.
Qualified persons must have a “Low THC Oil Registry Card” issued by the Georgia Department of Public Health to prove that they are authorized to have the oil and protect them from arrest.
Those eligible for the card include:
- Adults who have one or more of the diseases specified by law
- Legal guardians of an adult who has one or more of the diseases specified in the law
- Parents or legal guardians of a minor child who has one or more of the diseases specified in the law
Conditions or diseases covered by law that qualify for the Low THC Oil Registry Card Include:
- Cancer, when such diagnosis is end stage or the treatment produces related wasting illness or recalcitrant nausea and vomiting
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, when such diagnosis is severe or end stage
- Seizure disorders related to diagnosis of epilepsy or trauma related head injuries
- Multiple sclerosis, when such diagnosis is severe or end stage
- Crohn’s disease
- Mitochondrial disease
- Parkinson’s disease, when such diagnosis is sever or end stage
- Sickle cell disease, when such diagnosis is severe or end stage
- Tourette’s syndrome, when such syndrome is diagnosed as severe
- Autism spectrum disorder, when (a) patient is 18 years of age or more, or(b) patient is less than 18 years of age and diagnosed with severe autism
- Epidermolysis bullosa
- Alzheimer’s disease, when such disease is severe or end stage
- AIDS when such syndrome is severe or end stage
- Peripheral neuropathy, when symptoms are severe or end stage
- Patient is in hospice program, either as inpatient or outpatient
- Intractable pain
- Post-traumatic stress disorder resulting from direct exposure to or witnessing of a trauma for a patient who is at least 18 years of age
How can I help someone obtain a Low THC Oil Registry Card?
First, you must have a doctor-patient relationship with the person you determine to have one
or more of the diseases or conditions specified in the law.
Second, you will need to fill out two forms. One is a waiver signed by you and the patient,
while the other is the physician certification form. Keep the originals of the forms in the patient
Third, you or your staff will enter this information into the Georgia Low THC Oil Registry Portal.
Click here to find more information about the Georgia Low THC Oil Registry Port
Important points to remember
- You are not required to certify a patient’s eligibility for a Low THC Oil Registry Card. Whether to certify or not to certify is left entirely to your judgement
- This bill does not authorize physicians to prescribe medical marijuana. You ONLY certifying that your patient meets the law’s criteria to use Low THC oil.
- This registration process has been established by Georgia Law and does not violate any state or federal laws
- Georgia Code 16-12-231 provides protection from arrest, prosecution, or disciplinary action from professional licensing boards for physicians who certify patients to the Low THC Oil Registry